Bubble Champs: Barangay Ginebra wins 2020 PBA PH Cup Finals

Bubble Champs: Barangay Ginebra wins 2020 PBA PH Cup Finals

PAMPANGA. The Barangay Ginebra San Miguel (BGSM) won their first Philippine Cup title in 13 years after they beat the TNT Tropang Giga, 82-78 in a nail-biting Game 5 of the PBA finals inside the AUF Sports Arena and Cultural Center.

The Kings closed the series to 4-1 and grabbed their 13th title in franchise history.

A lot has been written in the history books after the Barangay Ginebra won PBA Philippine Cup in the bubble.

It’s a double celebration for King’s veteran point guard LA Tenorio. The Ginebra’s “Tinyente” declared as the Finals MVP and won his first-ever Philippine Cup title.

Japeth Aguilar had an inspired ball game performance. The 6-foot-9 power forward/center scored a career-high 32 points. He tallied eight rebounds, three steals, and two assists, with a couple of dunks as well.

Here’s one of the highlights of the game, Tenorio lob passed to a Aguilar slam dunk.

Coach Tim Cone has become the winningest “Ginebra” coach with 5 PBA titles. He surpassed Coach Robert Jaworski Sr., who won 4 titles with the BGSM franchise.

The BGSM franchise tied Crispa for the fourth-most in league history.

Also, Joe Devance tied Rafi Reavis as most championships won by an active player with 11 PBA titles.

Fans shared their joy for the team as “Ginebra”, #pbafinals, #WeAreGINE13RA trended on Twitter.

Moreover, 316 thousand viewers were recorded watching the live stream on the Facebook page of PBA.

Also Read:

Ginebra fan girl back with an updated version of Gary Granada’s hit

Meet the PBA Muses of Leo Awards 2020

Ginebra’s Jayjay Helterbrand retires after 17-year PBA career